Here I created a few custom playlists in iTunes 11. The default playlists like “My Top Rated” and “Recently Added” won’t be imported, just the ones you create.

Import iTunes Playlist to Xbox Music

Launch Xbox Music and from the Home screen click or tap My Music.

On the next screen select Playlists.

Then right click, or on a touchscreen, swipe from the top down. On the menu bar at the bottom, select Import Playlists.

A message will come up letting you know Xbox Music looks in your Music library and playlists created in iTunes. Select the Import Playlists button.

You’ll get a pop-up message letting you know how many playlists were added.

The imported playlists will show up in your Xbox Music at the top. If you have playlists in iTunes and Xbox Music with the same name, a number in parenthesis next to it. Just like if you have multiple files in a directory named the same.

You’ll be able to access the songs from the playlists in other areas of Xbox Music too.

That’s all there is to it. Before this update, you could create Playlists in Xbox Music, but the ability to import existing ones comes in handy. If you have an Xbox 360, the playlists will show up via what Microsoft calls its “Music in the Cloud” service.

I bought a new desktop pc with Windows 8 and am having trouble downloading all the iTunes music that I have stored from an external HD. I may be contacting u for instructions on how to do this. I’ve uninstalled and reinstalled iTunes at least 2d or 3 times but still no luck. Any ideas? I install iTunes first than I download from my external HD all my music. When I activate iTunes a select a song to ;lay I get the msg that sez: “The song ………. coulde not be used because the original file could not be found. Would u like to locate it?” I then have two options a Locagte button or a Cancel button. When I click on the Locate button I have several files or options to choose from buy NO further instructions. Also, it’s possible your iTunes Media Folder Location might not be set to My Music. Check out this article on changing your iTunes Folder Location: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/change-itunes-library-location/ Any suggestions? I haven’t looked in to it too closely yet, but I am thinking you need to rip CDs with Windows Media Player — which actually still exists in Windows 8.x: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/where-is-windows-media-player-windows-8/ Or you could use any desktop software to rip your discs… iTunes…etc. Then change the meta data manually if the info isn’t listed in the music databases. If you use another program like iTunes, you can make Xbox music look in other locations for music…including external drives and network locations …. you can see how to do that here: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/xbox-music-windows-8-1-add-local-music-collection/ Comment

Δ